I Am Willing

by Elias Blum

Today, I am choosing to sustain Hope in the midst of despair. I am choosing to find Light in the cracks of darkness. I am choosing to see the possibilities scattered amongst the obstacles. I’m taking it one song at a time. For these are the work-songs of the Kingdom of Love, the battle hymns of the Republic of Grace. I am choosing, right now, to rejoice in the opportunities ahead, and to work diligently at the things that must be done. Today, I am choosing not to be discouraged by difficulties, nor overwhelmed by my fears, nor kept captive to lethargy. I am choosing to remember that I although I am weak, tired, frustrated and frightened, I am also ‘strengthened with all might, according to his glorious power, unto all patience and longsuffering with joyfulness’. So sing out, my awakened soul, and rejoice! Be encouraged, my heavy heart, and rise! Find strength, my frail hands, and set to your work joyfully. For today I am willing!

