Heretics for Evangelical Love!

by Elias Blum

Progressive Christians are used to being misunderstood by our more conservative and evangelical fellow-followers. It goes with the territory. But beyond misunderstanding, many of us have also experienced hatred, aggression, exclusion and ridicule. To give just two minor and incidental personal examples,  I once had my offer to help out with charity work conducted by a local church rejected because of my adherence to ‘heretical doctrines’, and a long-awaited and much needed week of ecumenical Christian retreat was ruined by an evangelical man who threatened to punch me in the face because I denied hell, substitutionary atonement and the inerrancy of the bible!  Anyway, for anyone who has been at the receiving end of that sort of treatment, this is quite a heart-warming story.

 

 

