There is a Day (and it’s coming yet, for a’ that)

by Elias Blum

I don’t care that the video is a bit glib in places.

And I don’t care that the song is at the sappy end of the soft-rock-pop-worship spectrum.

And I certainly don’t care, right now, about the fact that I interpret 1 Thessalonians 4 quite differently from the way that these folks might.

That’s all by-the-by.

They had me hooked with the picture frame thing. That’s exactly how it seems to me: it’s like we get these little glimpses, through the Spirit, of a different reality hope, wellness, joy, light, freedom, and love. These glimpses show how the world should be and was always meant to be, behind the hopelessness and darkness that otherwise surrounds us.

And that reality is breaking through. It’s in the cracks. It shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not extinguished it. So I still believe that there is a day – and (to switch from Paul to Burns) ‘it’s coming yet, for all that.’

