More about Tories

by Elias Blum

I can understand their free-market dogma, their despising of the poor, their indifference to disability or unemployment, their doctrinaire mantra of ‘private good, public bad’, their cosying up to oligarchs, and their heartless commitment to ‘profit-uber-alles’.

I can understand their ‘Rule Britannia’ blimpishness, their visceral xenophobia, their yearnings for the return of a lost empire, and their warmongering lust for military adventure.

I can understand their ambivalence towards civil liberties, their sadomascocistic desire for a ‘strong state’, and their paranoia about muslims, hippies, whistle-blowers, trade unionists, protestors, and anyone who appears to threaten the power or prestigue of the ruling class.

I can even understand their strange attachment to the institutional flummery of the UK state, with its monarchical roots, ridiculous electoral system, its arcane unwritten ‘rules’ and its silly costumes.

All of this makes sense, within their world-view and as seen from the interests of the thin upper stratum of society that they serve. I don’t like it, I don’t agree with it, but I can make sense of it.

What I don’t understand, though, is this: what do Tories have against badgers? Alternative and more humane forms of controlling the badger population or of preventing the spread of bovine TB (of which badgers, apparently, are a carrier) are always dismissed. For the Tories it has to be shooting and gassing.

It is almost as if they are acting out their fantasies for mass-murder. I feel a bit as if the way Tories treat badgers is how they’d treat Romanians, people with disabilities, and the long-term unemployed, if only they could get away with it.

